Daily Free Books

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average

Need Some Help With Kobo

Share this Page 
08 Sep 2013, 08:28 AM
Hi

Newbie here.

I have self-published books in print and on Kindle, and I'm trying to publish onto Kobo but I'm getting tied up in knots. I uploaded my Word .docx file but when I came to read it (in Mozilla's epubreader addin program) it looked a mess, so I began to edit in Kobo's editor but it's still doesn't look right. It may be the epub reader.Huh

For fear of running into Tesco and screaming Morrison's, when you publish to Kindle there's an onscreen version of the Kindle ereader you can view during editing so you can see exactly where your text would be in the physical ereader. I find this really helpful. Kobo doesn't seem to have this feature. If I download the Kobo ereader to my laptop would I be able to read the file that way? If not could anyone recommend another epubreader?

?? I don't get this. I tried converting the .doc file to an .epub file which worked, but Kobo won't accept the file although it clearly states .epub files are supported!

Incidentally I don't use Mobipocket. I tried it for Kindle and couldn't get on with it. I upload using Notepad and html. Yeah, I know...

Many thanks in advance

Tracey

PS Just tried converting the .doc file to .epub, that worked - but Kobo is refusing to accept it!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
19 Sep 2013, 10:05 PM
Have you tried Draft2Digital?

https://www.draft2digital.com/

Most of us find this a painless way to get books up on Kobo.

Author of -
The War of the Second Iteration
Book One The Luck of Han'anga
Book Two Founders' Effect
Book Three The Plight of the Eli'ahtna
and
Mr. Olcott's Skies
29 Sep 2013, 03:33 PM
Thomas, you are an absolute diamond! Many thanks for this! It works really well.

I'm having a problem with some formatting on the first few pages but that's in the original Word document, so I'll work on that.

A couple of questions: